Skip navigation
Banner: Advertise here!

About ARPS

The Australian Radiation Protection Society was founded in 1975 and has more than 250 members engaged in radiation protection activities. Members are engaged in a variety of activities designed to ensure the safe use of both ionizing and non-ionizing radiation for a wide variety of applications, in medicine, pure and applied science, industry and mining.

The Society was renamed the Australasian Radiation Protection Society in 1997 to reflect the increasing involvement of members from outside of Australia, particularly from New Zealand.

Mission Statement

The primary objective of the society is to promote the principles, and practice of radiation protection, and to this end it seeks to:
  • Establish, and maintain professional standards of radiation protection practice
  • Encourage co-operation among persons engaged in radiation protection activities
  • Provide for and give support to scientific meetings on topics related to radiation protection
  • Encourage publications in the field of radiation protection

ARPS Secretariat

For most enquiries our staff contact system provides the most efficient means of contact.

Alternatively, direct ARPS Secretariat contact details are below:
 
The ARPS Secretariat
Telephone:   +61 3 9756 0128
Email:   secretariat@arps.org.au
Postal Address:   PO Box 7108, Upper Ferntree Gully, Victoria 3156, Australia

Australian State Branches

Australian state branches of ARPS provide a local forum for radiation professionals. They also aim to improve local engagement, and awareness of radiation protection. 

Australian state branches of ARPS
State Contact Person
NSW Chair:  Nicole Willetts - nicole.willetts@gmail.com
Sec:  Alison Parkes - parkes.alison@gmail.com
SA Chair:  Ian Furness - ian.furness@unisa.edu.au
Sec:  Pam Sykes - pam.sykes@flinders.edu.au
VIC Chair:  Peter Harty - peter.harty@arpansa.gov.au
Sec:  Margaret Rendell - margaret.rendell@monash.edu
QLD Chair:  Simon Turner - simon@sensaweb.com.au
Sec:  Samantha Sonter - Samantha.sonter@health.qld.gov.au




Child pages: